Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Libertas: Legal Collection: Home

Legal Collection from EBSCO Host


EBSCO Host Legal Collection contains full text for hundreds of the most respected scholarly law journals, Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.

  • Active full-text, non-open access for more than 190 periodicals — many of them peer-reviewed — dating back to 1981
  • Indexing of over 1,100 legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications and university publications 
  • More than 300 law reviews

Primary Sources of Law

Administrative Regulation- Administrative laws are laws pertaining to administrative agencies. These laws govern the formation and operation of administrative agencies. Administrative law is also sometimes called regulatory law.

Administrative Decision- Decisions handed down by administrative law judges.

Charter- A fundamental law of a local unit of government.

Constitution- A body of fundamental principles or established precedents according to which a state or other organization is acknowledged to be governed

Court Cases- Court opinions and decisions are laws made by judges and not legislatures.

Executive Order- A rule or order issued by the president to an executive branch of the government and having the force of law

Ordinances- Laws of a local legislative branch (city, county)

Rules of Court- A set of procedural regulations adopted by courts which are mandatory upon parties and their lawyers on matters within the jurisdiction of those courts.

Statute- A written law passed by a legislative body.

Secondary Sources of Law

Digests- A digest is essentially an index to case law; it takes the headnotes that summarize the points of law discussed in each case and organizes them by subject (Drake University)

Law Review- Law review and law journal articles are lengthy, scholarly articles written by experts in the field on a variety of legal topics.(Indiana University)

Legal Dictionaries- A legal dictionary contains the definitions of legal terms taken from a variety of sources. They are the first place you should look when you do not understand what a legal term means. (Georgetown University)

Legal Encyclopedia- A legal encyclopedia is a comprehensive set of brief articles on legal topics. (Georgetown Law)

Legal Periodicals- Legal periodicals contain articles about emerging areas of law and are written by professors, practitioners, judges, and law students. Commonly used legal periodicals include law reviews, law journals, and bar journals. (Georgetown Law)

Treatise-  A Treatise focuses on a single area of law and is written by experts in that area. (Georgetown Law)

NoodleTools

Boolean Operators

Boolean logic defines logical relationships between terms in a search. The Boolean search operators are and, or and not. You can use these operators to create a very broad or very narrow search.

  • And combines search terms so that each search result contains all of the terms.
  • Or combines search terms so that each search result contains at least one of the terms.
  • Not excludes terms so that each search result does not contain any of the terms that follow it.
Boolean Operators
And Or Not
Each result contains all search terms. Each result contains at least one search term. Results do not contain the specified terms.
The search heart and lung finds items that contain both heart and lung. The search heart or lung finds items that contain either heart or items that contain lung. The search heart not lung finds items that contain heart but do not contain lung

example from EBSCO Connect