Skip to Main Content

Crucible, The: Home

The Crucible

Essential Question: How is Arthur Miller's The Crucible a social commentary on McCarthyism and
the Red Scare of the 1950s?

In this project, you will write an analytical paper about The Crucible as it pertains to the events which led to the Salem Witch Trials and the Red Scare of McCarthyism. Notes will be completed using Cornell style by answering the questions listed in the table below. You will be graded both on the quality of your notes and the paper itself (see rubrics at bottom of the screen).

Objective: Write an expository/literary text that: (ELAR III- 15C)

(i) advances a clear thesis statement;
(ii) addresses the writing skills for an analytical essay, including references to and commentary on quotations from the text;
(iii) analyzes the aesthetic effects of an author's use of stylistic or rhetorical devices;
(iv) identifies and analyzes the ambiguities, nuances, and complexities within the text; and
(v) anticipates and responds to readers' questions or contradictory information
Grade Worth: This will count for three test grades excluding the Final.
GRADE ONE: Three Circle Venn Diagram.
GRADE TWO: First draft of report.
GRADE THREE: Final report. *
*Will reflect third nine weeks test grade.  
Schedule/Due Dates:

Days

1 & 2

Library

  

1. Introduction to project

2. Read literary Analysis: Overview: The Crucible .

3. Read the first section of the article, "Events in History at the Time the Play Takes Place". Choose and answer 6 of the 8 questions in Cornell format. (Due @ end of class)

Events in History at the Time the Play Takes Place

  • What conflicts arose within the Puritan community?
  • When did Salem have an explosion of witchcraft?
  • Explain the political climate during Edmund Andros taking over the Puritan's government?
  • What was the impact of Goody Glover's suspected witchcraft activity in Massachusetts?
  • Summarize the causes which led to the trials in Salem Village.
  • Name two effects that occurred as a result following the witch hunts.
  • Describe the typical characteristics of someone who might be a witch.
  • Construct an analysis of the "real fear" as to what fueled Puritan hysteria?

Day 3

Library

1. Continue reading Overview: The Crucible and taking notes on the following questions. Choose and answer 7 of the 10 questions. (Due @ end of class)

The Play in Focus

  • Why did John Proctor not see himself as a good man?  
  • Draw a Conclusion: Why did Mary Warren re-join the girls?  
  • Why was John upset about having his name and confession put up on the church? 

Private Vengeance 

  • Identify two vindictive characters from The Crucible. Explain what they did to seek vengeance. 

Sources 

          *I.D. two details Miller changed from historical facts and interpret why he did so.   

Events in History at the Time the Play was Written

  • Which two countries were dominant world powers?
  • What political threat did many Americans fear? 

McCarthyism and the Red Scare

  • Summarize the events which led to the McCarthy trials and the Red Scare.  
  • Develop a logical conclusion on why Arthur Miller wrote the play, The Crucible.
  • Connect a current event to the levels of hysteria found during the Salem Witch Trials and the Red Scare. Fully explain your connection.

2. Create a  Venn Diagram comparing and contrasting two of three: Salem Witch Trials, Red Scare, or The Crucible.
 Day 4  

Library

 

 

Day 5-6

Library 

 

1. Begin plugging sources and notes into Noodle Tools. Grades taken for notes. (Daily).

*Plug the Crucible text: Citation type = book. Type Author's name and title (Miller, Arthur, The Crucible).

*Plug the Overview article. Citation type= Database -> Journal -> click copy and paste citation. -> Go to article, click citation tools-> select MLA 7th -> copy from Word pop up. 

1. Review Paper Outline

2. Begin first Draft

3. Write an analysis of The Crucible as a social commentary of McCarthyism and the Salem witch trials.

4. Conclusion devoted to literary analysis/comparison of historical research.
 Day 7-10 

 

 

1. Peer edit/revise

2. Type final paper and turn-in at the end of class.

3. Hand in: First draft, Final draft, any make-up work.

*Double-Space, 12-inch Times New Roman font (10 points).

 

Rubric Research Notes: The Crucible

CATEGORY
4
3
2
1
Notes
Notes are recorded and organized in an extremely neat and orderly fashion. Questions are fully answered with textual evidence.
Notes are recorded legibly and are somewhat organized. Questions are answered with textual evidence.
Notes are recorded. Questions are minimally answered.
Notes are recorded only with peer/teacher assistance and reminders to stay on task. Questions are answered below minimal expectations or not at all.
Graphic Organizer
Venn Diagram has been completed and shows clear, logical relationships between all topics and subtopics.
Venn Diagram has been completed and shows clear, logical relationships between most topics and subtopics.
Venn Diagram has been started and includes some topics and subtopics.
Venn Diagram has not been attempted.

 

Rubric
Research Paper: The Crucible

CATEGORY
4
3
2
1
Amount of Information
All topics are addressed and all questions answered with at least 2 sentences about each.
All topics are addressed and most questions answered with at least 2 sentences about each.
All topics are addressed, and most questions answered with 1 sentence about each.
One or more topics were not addressed.
Quality of Information
Information clearly relates to the main topic. It includes several supporting details and/or examples.
Information clearly relates to the main topic. It provides 1-2 supporting details and/or examples.
Information clearly relates to the main topic. No details and/or examples are given.
Information has little or nothing to do with the main topic.
Paragraph Construction
All paragraphs include introductory sentence, explanations or details, and concluding sentence.
Most paragraphs include introductory sentence, explanations or details, and concluding sentence.
Paragraphs included related information but were typically not constructed well.
Paragraphing structure was not clear and sentences were not typically related within the paragraphs.
Mechanics
No grammatical, spelling or punctuation errors.
Almost no grammatical, spelling or punctuation errors
A few grammatical spelling, or punctuation errors.
Many grammatical, spelling, or punctuation errors.
First Draft
Detailed draft is neatly presented and includes all required information.
Draft includes all required information and is legible.
Draft includes most required information and is legible.
Draft is missing required information and is difficult to read.
Final Copy
Final copy is neatly presented and includes all required information and is typed.
Final copy includes all required information, is legible and is typed.
Final copy includes most required information and is typed.
Final copy is missing required information and is not typed.