Research Guides: Copy of The Power of Nonfiction: Graphic Novels in the Classroom: Using Graphic Novels in the Classroom

Create your own Comic

Common Core in Action: 10 Visual Literacy Strategies
Visual literacy is a 21st century skill that is incorporated into the Common Core Standards. In this article Todd Finley, English professor and former K-12 teacher, discusses strategies for teaching visual literacy.

Picture This by Molly Bang
Call Number: 2nd floor NK1510 .B258 2016
ISBN: 9781452135151
Publication Date: 2016
Reading the Visual: An Introduction to Teaching Multimodal Literacy by Frank Serafini
Call Number: 2nd floor LB1068 .S468 2014
ISBN: 9780807754719
Publication Date: 2013
Teaching Visual Literacy by Nancy Frey; Douglas Fisher
Call Number: 2nd floor LB1068 .T43 2008
ISBN: 9781412953122
Publication Date: 2008
Visual Thinking Strategies: Using Art to Deepen Learning across School Disciplines by Philip Yenawine
Call Number: 2nd floor N350 .Y46 2013
ISBN: 9781612506098
Publication Date: 2013

A sampling of websites with suggestions for using graphic novels in the classroom.

Pop Culture Classroom
Using aspects of pop culture including graphic novels this program provides resources to support creative and critical thinking. The website includes downloadable materials, a sample curriculum, reviews and teaching suggestions.
Discovering Literacy Through Comics
This downloadable comic from Pop Culture Classroom provides information about how reading comics and graphic novels supports reading comprehension strategies.
Comic Book Show and Tell
While this particular lesson is for grades 9-12 many other lessons using comics and graphic novels are available from ReadWriteThink.org, a project of the International Literacy Association and the National Council of Teachers of English.
Comic Book Project
The Comic Book Project was started by Michael Bitz as a literacy project in New York City in 2001. This website provides teaching resources (for a fee), highlights comics created by kids, and identifies research about the use of comics to teach literacy.
CCSS-aligned Teachers' Guides
Toon Books, a publisher of graphic novels for Grades K to 3 provides free lesson plans and student activity sheets for many of their tit.es.

Books available from the David & Lorraine Cheng Library. Located either in the CMC (Curriculum Materials Center) or in the 2nd floor collection.

Adventures in Graphica by Terry Thompson
Call Number: 2nd floor LB1044.9.C59 T48 2008
ISBN: 9781571107121
Publication Date: 2008
Getting Graphic! by Michele Gorman
Call Number: CMC & 2nd floor PN6710 .G68 2003
ISBN: 1586830899
Publication Date: 2003
Graphic Novels in Your Media Center by Allyson A. W. Lyga; Barry Lyga
Call Number: CMC Z692.G7 L94 2004
ISBN: 1591581427
Publication Date: 2004
How to Write a Comic Book by Nelson Yomtov; Kathleen Petelinsek (Illustrator)
Call Number: CMC j741.5 Yom
ISBN: 9781624311871
Publication Date: 2013
Less Is More by Kimberly Hill Campbell; Leila Christenbury (Foreword by)
Call Number: 2nd floor PN59 .C235 2007
ISBN: 9781571107107
Publication Date: 2007
The Power of Scriptwriting! Teaching Essential Writing Skills through Podcasts, Graphic Novels, Movies and More by Peter Gutiérrez
Call Number: 2nd floor LB1576 .G88 2014
ISBN: 9780807754665
Publication Date: 2013
Teaching Early Reader Comics and Graphic Novels by Katie Monnin
Call Number: CMC PN6790.U6 M66 2011
ISBN: 9781936700233
Publication Date: 2013
Wham! Teaching with graphic novels across the curriculum by William G. Brozo; Gary Moorman; Carla K. Meyer
Call Number: 2nd floor LB1044.9.C59 B76 2014
ISBN: 9780807754955
Publication Date: 2013
When Commas Meet Kryptonite: Classroom Lessons from The Comic Book Project by Michael Bitz
Call Number: 2nd floor LB1044.9.C59 B58 2010
ISBN: 9780807750650
Publication Date: 2010

Jackdaw Publications
Source of print reproductions of primary source documents.
American Memory from the Library of Congress
The American Memory Project contains documents, maps, photographs, moving images, sound recordings and memorabilia from American life. Searchable by broad subjects or keywords. The Learning Page includes sample lesson plans and other teaching suggestions. Grades: 3 - 12
Civil Rights Digital Library
A project of the University of Georgia,this collection includes primary source materials (recordings, photos, documents, diaries, etc.) and links to other collections. The Educator Resources consists of lesson plans, study guides, worksheets, etc. Grades: 6 - 12
DocsTeach
The National Archives has developed seven free teacher tools that can make primary source materials more accessible to students. A curated collection of primary source materials, divided into eight time periods of U.S. history, is part of this website. Registration is required.
Chronicling America
A project of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities, this website enables users to search newspapers published in the United States from 1789-1943.
Document Analysis Worksheets
Sample worksheets to help students analyze different types of primary sources (photos, documents, cartoons, etc.). Available for both younger and older students.

Books available from the David & Lorraine Cheng Library. Located either in the CMC (Curriculum Materials Center) or in the 2nd floor collection.

101 Outstanding Graphic Novels by Stephen Weiner; Daniel J. Fingeroth (Editor)
Call Number: 2nd floor Z5956.C6 W45 2005; also available as an ebook
ISBN: 9781561639441
Publication Date: 2015
Graphic Novels:A genre guide to comic books, manga, and more. by Michael Pawuk
Call Number: [CMC-Reference] PN6710 .P38 2007
ISBN: 9781591581321
Publication Date: 2006
The Readers' Advisory Guide to Graphic Novels by Francisca Goldsmith
Call Number: CMC Z692.G7 G655 2010
ISBN: 9780838910085
Publication Date: 2009
Understanding Comics: The invisible art. by Scott McCloud
Call Number: CMC PN6710 .M335 1994
ISBN: 006097625X
Publication Date: 1994

No Flying No Tights
Reviews of comics, manga and anime for kids, teens and adults.