Research Guides: Researching Like a Historian: Primary/Secondary Resources

Primary vs. Secondary Sources

Source Presentation by AARON GOULETTE

Primary Source Resources

Library of Congress

Helpful Links Within the Library of Congress
Catalog
Historic Newspapers
Online Exhibits
Research Guides

National Archives

Helpful Links Within the National Archives
Catalog
List of Governmental Agencies
Online Exhibits
Milestone Documents

Texas State Library and Archives Commission

Helpful Links Within TSLAC
Catalog
Online Exhibits
Texas Digital Archives

Digital Public Library of America includes over 48 million primary source images, texts, videos, and sounds curated from public libraries and museums across the United States.

UTEP Library - Special Collections

America Between the Civil War and the 20th Century, 1865 to 1900 by Jeffrey H. Wallenfeldt
Call Number: 973.8 AME
ISBN: 1615306846
Publication Date: 2012-07-15
The newly reunified United States experienced a tenuous peace following the American Civil War. It was a period characterized by great technological advances, but also by increased political, economic, and social polarization. This penetrating look at American history between the Civil War and 20th century includes firsthand accounts that reveal the prevailing ideologies of the time and shed light on significant people and events.
Debating the Issues in Colonial Newspapers by David A. Copeland
Call Number: 973.2 COP
ISBN: 0313309825
Publication Date: 2000-08-30
For every major event or issue of the colonial period, newspapers printed the opinions of the day, in many cases attempting to influence public opinion. Issues such as medical discoveries, education, and censorship are covered in this collection along with important events such as the French and Indian War, the trial of John Peter Zenger, and the Boston Massacre. Each chapter introduces the event or issue and includes news articles, letters, essays, even poetry representing both sides of the argument as they affected Americans. Each document is preceded by an explanatory introduction. This is the only collection of primary source documents from colonial newspapers on the events of the era and will be a valuable tool for research and classroom discussion.
The European Settlement of North America (1492-1754) by George Edward Stanley
Call Number: 970.02 STA
ISBN: 0836858247
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Fulfill the need to incorporate primary sources in your American history reports and projects with this engaging series. Each book uses a variety of primary source documents to provide a unique perspective on historical events. Public documents, including newspaper articles, speeches, historic acts of legislation, and treaties give readers a broader understanding of the events that shaped our nation, while personal diaries and letters provide intimate portraits of the people who influenced or witnessed those events. Featuring words drawn straight from the shapers of history, this captivating series gives readers a richer understanding of the nation's history.
Manifest Destiny by Jesse Jarnow
Call Number: 979 MOR
ISBN: 1404201769
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Americans' belief that the country was destined to expand across the continent helped to create our greatest territorial growth, doubling the size of the young country. Using primary source documents and images, this is a lively account of our territorial expansion during the nineteenth century. Revealing the states that developed from these acquired territories, the book also provides significant information on the Mexican-American War, the effect on the Native American population, and the battle over allowing slavery in the new territories, which eventually led to the Civil War.
Milestone Documents in African American History by Paul Finkelman
Call Number: REF 973 MIL v.1
ISBN: 1935306111
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
The fourth publication in the award-winning, critically acclaimed Milestone Documents sereis, Milestone Documents in African American History explores the fundamental primary sources in African American history. This four-volume set covers 135 iconic primary documents from the 1600's to the present. Each entry offers the full text of the document in question as well as an in-depth, analytical essay that places the document in its historical context.
Native American Resistance by Zachary Deibel
Call Number: 970 DEI
ISBN: 9781502626448
Publication Date: 2017-07-15
The United States grew rapidly from the time of the Louisiana Purchase to the building of the Transcontinental Railroad. All of this expansion came at the expense of Native American populations that had either lived in the region for centuries or been forced there from ancestral homes in the East. Tribes memorably fought on their own and together in an doomed effort to retain the land and a lifestyle that had long sustained their families. This book outlines some of the major conflicts of the Westward Expansion, and of the treaties and were signed, and often broken, by representatives of the tribes and the government of the United States.
Understanding U. S. Military Conflicts Through Primary Sources by James R. Arnold (Editor); Roberta Wiener (Editor)
Call Number: REF 355 UND v2
ISBN: 9781610699334
Publication Date: 2015-11-12
An easily accessible resource that showcases the links between using documented primary sources and gaining a more nuanced understanding of military history. * Covers benchmark documents in U.S. diplomatic and military history from 14 conflicts * Utilizes document introductions and scholarly analysis to help students understand the primary source materials * Supports document-based teaching and learning strategies

US History in Context

America's Historical Newspapers

Research Questons to Ask When Using Primary Sources

1. What is the source and what is it telling you?
2, Who is the author or creator?
3, What biases or assumptions may have influenced the author or creator?
4. Who was the intended audience?
5. What was the significance of the source at the time it was created?
6. Has the source been edited or translated, thus potentially altering the original intent or purpose?
7. What questions could be answered using this source?
8. What, if any, are the limitations of the source?
9. Does your understanding of the source fit with other scholars’ interpretations, or does it challenge their argument?

Sample Speech

" However [political parties] may now and then answer popular ends, they are likely in the course of time and things, to become potent engines, by which cunning, ambitious, and unprincipled men will be enabled to subvert the power of the people and to usurp for themselves the reins of government, destroying afterwards the very engines which have lifted them to unjust dominion. "

Washington's Farewell Address 1796
George Washington's Farewell Address after his presidency.

Primary vs. Secondary Sources Poster

Primary vs Secondary Sources by AARON GOULETTE

Resource Game

Beginning with Primary Sources

Make a chart of places, people, events, and terms about which you want to find primary resources.Evaluate how the source will benefit the writing of your paper.

	Primary Source #1	Primary Source #2	Primary Source #3
Places
People
Events
Terms
How will I use this in my paper?

Synthesizing Primary Sources

Synthesis of Primary Sources by AARON GOULETTE

Researching Like a Historian: Primary/Secondary Resources