Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Argumentative Paper: Rubric

Rubric

Research Paper Rubric Scale
5 = Exceeds Standard
4 =  Meets Standard
3 = Nearly Meets Standard
2 = Does Not Meet Standard
1 = No Evidence

MLA Heading
5) Your Name, Teacher’s Name, Course Period, Date, Neatly finished-no errors
4) Evidence of four
3) Evidence of three
2) Evidence of two or less
1) Absent
Thesis Statement
5) Clearly and concisely states the paper’s purpose in a single sentence that includes 3 reasons for argument and a concession.
4) Clearly states the paper’s purpose in a single sentence with reasons for argument.
3) States the paper’s purpose in a single sentence.
2) Incomplete and/or unfocused.
1) Absent, no evidence
Introduction
5) The introduction is engaging, states the main topic and includes a thoughtful attention grabber.
4) The introduction states the main topic and includes an attention grabber.
3) The introduction states the main topic but does not contain an attention grabber.
2) There is no clear introduction or attention grabber.
1) Absent, no evidence.
Body
5) Each paragraph has thoughtful supporting detail sentences  that develop the main idea. More than two quotes are used to support each argument.
4) Each paragraph has sufficient supporting detail sentences that develop the main idea. two quotes are used to support each argument.
3) Each paragraph lacks supporting detail sentences. Fewer than two quotes are used to support each argument
2) Each paragraph fails to develop the main idea. Fewer than four quotes overall.
1) No evidence, no support.
Organization Structural  Development of the Idea
5) Writer demonstrates logical and subtle sequencing of ideas through well-developed paragraphs; transitions are used to enhance organization and counterargument and rebuttal provided.
4) Paragraph development present but not perfected. Counterargument and rebuttal provided.
3) Logical organization; organization of ideas not fully developed. Counterargument or rebuttal may be missing.
2) No evidence of structure or organization.
1) No evidence
Conclusion 
5) Conclusion is engaging, restates idea of thesis and provides a call to action.
4) The conclusion restates the thesis and provides a call to action.
3) The conclusion does not adequately restate the thesis. Call to action may be missing.
2) Incomplete and/or unfocused. No call to action.
1) Absent
Mechanics
5) No errors in punctuation, capitalization and spelling.
4) Almost no errors in punctuation, capitalization and spelling.
3) Many errors in punctuation, capitalization and spelling.
2) Numerous and distracting errors in punctuation, capitalization and spelling.
1) Incomprehensible
Usage
5) No errors sentence structure and word usage.
4) Almost no errors in sentence structure and word usage.
3) Many errors in sentence structure and word usage.
2) Numerous and distracting errors in sentence structure and word usage.
1) Incomprehensible
Citation
5) More than Four cited works, both text and visual, are done in the correct MLA format with no errors.
4) Four cited works, both text and visual, are done in the correct format.
3) Inconsistencies evident. Fewer than Four cited works, both text and visual, are done in the correct format.
2) Two or Three cited works in correct format or incorrect format for all citations.
1) No evidence, no quotations.
Work Cited page
5) Done in the correct MLA format with no errors. Includes more than FIVE major references.
4) Done in the correct format with few errors. Includes FIVE major references 
3) Done in the correct format with some errors. Includes Four major references 
2) Done in the correct format with many errors. Includes Two or Three major references 
1) Evidence absent/All incorrect